You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs.

A paper Easter basket filled with mini Lindor chocolate eggs, made by my little sister.

The Easter holidays are upon us, which usually means time off, free chocolate and some kind of religious festivity. Though I am somewhat excluded from all three, in consideration that I don’t work in the education sector, am an atheist and not much of a chocolate fanatic. DS naturally falls into my latter three, being a baby and not having much of a choice himself.

I am aware that as he grows older, he will gain interest in the things I try to shield him from (i.e. Easter eggs). But the thought of giving my baby boy an Easter egg, or anything else sugary coated, horrifies me. Children have the rest of their adult lives to eat, or do, whatever they like; it seems ridiculous to give a baby chocolate just because it’s mean not to. He doesn’t think it’s mean, because he doesn’t know any better.

DS has only tried chocolate once or twice, because nursery had slipped up, and he is not overly crazed about it. Honestly, he would happily devour an apple and not think I was cruel. My line of thought is that all children are inquisitive and it is our job as parents to guide them down the right path. If we start as we mean to go on, children will trust their routine, take comfort in the rules set and hopefully grow up not being all that phased by the junk that is constantly shoved in their faces.

So now you know my stance on the matter (though you could have probably guessed), rest assured any chocolate presented to DS will not be wasted, it will be thoroughly enjoyed by DH and I.

9 thoughts on “You can’t make an omelette without breaking eggs.

  1. I think you’re absolutely right. I never put sugar on my kids’ cereal when they were small and they are just fine without it – like you I didn’t see the need to, and they acquired the taste of eating it without. Now they are older, it’s harder and I am less restrictive but even though they may choose the junk, it usually gets left half eaten (or just nibbled). Mind you, they will be getting Easter eggs – both of them have inherited my taste for dark chocolate…

    • I agree that as they get older, it gets harder. I will no doubt buy DS an easter egg when he’s a bit older, but like you said, there really is no need for it in consideration that he is only two years!

  2. I was like this with my first as well. With my 4th, I not only gave him a cream egg but filmed him eating it and put the film on you tube.

    • I guess it does get harder with more children you have; my Aunt was very strict with her first two but with her third she had to give in. Seems mean saying no to one when their older siblings are allowed!

  3. I think you are right. If they are young they know no different. It is harder if have older siblings. I was slated by my friends for not giving my daughter a chocolate advent calendar until last Christmas (she is 5). I couldn’t see the point when all I heard from friends was about the tantrums their 18 month old or 2 year old had when they could only have one. Or how they’d try and climb on the kitchen side to get the calendar! I was even called mean!

  4. Pingback: Food for thought. | Kathleen Bradley.

Let me know what you think.

