Brownie Points.

So DH made a request for some kind of pudding to be purchased on my food shop on Friday, and I decided to do one better and make a chocolate brownie. Yes, from scratch.

I have blogged about various cooking/baking ventures in the past and I can confidently say I am not a big fan of dessert. I much prefer to rustle up a meal, as ingredients tend to give or take. There is no forgiveness with a cake.

I decided to follow the Hummingbird Bakery‘s recipe (see link for full ingredients and instructions). This was my second attempt at baking something from this book, after I had a go at chocolate cupcakes.

Melt the dark chocolate with the butter in a heat proof bowl over simmering water, making sure that the bowl does not touch the water.

Once melted, remove the bowl from the pan. Add the sugar and mix, then add the flour and mix. Finally, crack the three eggs and stir until thick and smooth. Pour the mixture into a cake tin lined with grease proof paper; you might want to spread it over two, like I have, to make a thinner brownie.

The book says to cook for 35 minutes at 170°C/325°F/gas mark 3, however mine was in there for an hour despite my efforts to make the brownie thinner.

All in all I think it was pretty successful. Maybe next time I’ll choose a shallow cake tin to make sure the centre of the brownie isn’t too gooey. Despite this, it set perfectly fine and tasted absolutely delicious with vanilla ice-cream. Yum.

2 thoughts on “Brownie Points.

    • This particular recipe is meant for making the gooey kind. I vaguely remember making it (t’was a few weeks ago now!) and didn’t want it dry and cake-like, it’s richness went especially well with the vanilla ice-cream.
      Yours looks delicious on the cake stand :)

Let me know what you think.

