Icing on the Cake.

I was given The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook a while ago but have only used it as a picture book, not daring to actually make one of their magnificent cakes. A few days ago I decided I would try a simple recipe (you can follow the same recipe as the book on the websites I found) and make vanilla cupcakes, but instead of the vanilla frosting they suggest, I made chocolate.

Here are my ingredients. For a detailed list, please refer to the websites I have linked above.

After mixing the  flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter together, it looked something like this.

Once the egg, vanilla extract and milk have been incorporated, I spooned the mixture into paper cases.

Whilst they were baking in the oven, I prepared the chocolate frosting. When beating the icing sugar, butter and cocoa powder together and adding the milk, it may appear that the mixture is too dry. It is deceiving you and after a further few minutes beating the mixture together, the frosting will form perfectly.

After the cupcakes are cooked through and have cooled down, spread the chocolate frosting on top and sprinkle the hundreds and thousands.

One thought on “Icing on the Cake.

  1. Pingback: Brownie Points. | Kathleen Bradley.

Let me know what you think.

