First Class.

My amazing husband achieved a remarkable First Class BSc Honours in Politics and International Relations today and I am ever so proud of him. I had it hard when I finished my degree, what with the birth of our baby boy during the Christmas break of my final year and managing to continue without taking time out. However, my husband’s experience proved even tougher.

During my final year and DH’s second year, DS only needed to be fed, changed and put to sleep; it was difficult but fairly manageable with dedication and team work. DS has topped that by single-handedly juggling the role of stay-at-home dad to a demanding toddler, whilst finishing his final year. I helped as much as I could when I was not posing as the breadwinner, but ultimately DH has had the bulk of DS’ upbringing. DS’ constant need for attention and play gradually lessened his available study time, so it has been a worrying few months for us.

I am so overjoyed that he has been awarded a First Class, not only for his academia, but for all his extraordinary effort. First Class father, husband and academic. He really and truly deserves it.

Let me know what you think.

