I love you because…

Desperate for a creative way to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary, I took to Pinterest for inspiration.

Traditionally (and I’m not sure who made this up), the fifth year of marriage is meant to be celebrated with a gift made of wood. Don’t worry, I haven’t taken up carpentry. This is what I’ve made… <proud face>

photo frame

 

What I purchased to make this:

- 8x10in Wooden photo frame £12.99 TK Maxx
– Natural linen burlap/ grain sack fabric from £3 Etsy
– Reynolds Freezer Paper £5.38 Amazon (I couldn’t find this anywhere else online – if you happen to be in the US, pop to WalMart – will be a lot cheaper!)

Method:

1. Cut out the fabric and freezer paper to the size of an A4 sheet of paper, to ensure your printer will take.

2. Iron the fabric so remove the creases, and then match up with the freezer paper (with the plastic side facing the fabric) and iron. Make sure the fabric is facing down and you’re ironing on the freezer paper. It’s important you get this right, as otherwise you’ll end up ruining your iron!

3. Once the freezer paper is stuck to the fabric, trim off any loose edges.

4. Now time to choose some whacky fonts (if you’re not happy with the standard ones). I used Sunshine in my Soul and Return to Sender on Da Font, as recommended by this blogger.

5. I used Photoshop, but you can use any application to type your text. Make sure the font is big, and the text is centralised. Remember the size of the paper is most probably bigger than the size of your frame.

6. When you’re good to go, feed the fabric/freezer paper to your printer and print! I’ve got a standard HP Deskjet printer – you can use any printer to do this (believe me, mine is not fancy at all).

7. Once you’re done, trim the fabric/freezer paper to the size of your frame. Peel off the freezer paper gently and snip off any frayed edges.

8. Add it to your frame and voilà. All you need now is a whiteboard pen to write lovely messages :)

photo frame

Let me know what you think.

